buying a 78-83 911

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2001 | 09:16 PM
VWpete
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post buying a 78-83 911

Hey there,
I'm just getting into the 911 thing and have only previous experience with vintage vw's.
I'm located in Peoria, IL and have decided, after reading Excellences article this month that these years will suit me best. I can spend a max of 15k and am having a hard time finding the 911 for me...
I'd love a targa and under 100k miles...
Plus I'd love it as close to og as possible.
Am I dreaming?
Where did you guys find your cars? My local classifieds are lacking and I will travel for the right car...
Do you think this year range is right for me?
I'm a college student and don't plan on using it on the track. Just a nice driver that I can use in place of my '74 bug convert that I need to sell to fund the porsche. Don't worry I still have my restored '59 bus.
Aircooled all the way...
Thanks alot
Old 06-18-2001 | 10:22 PM
RBC
Advanced

If you're patient, you can find an excellent example of an SC in the mid teen$. Take it from someone who learned a hard lesson, and don't rush! Keep looking, and be diligent. When you think you've found the right car, have a thorough pre-purchase inspection done by a qualified Porsche mechanic. Don't use the same shop that's been working on the car (more advice from someone having learned the hard way).

I also come from an air-cooled background, having owned a couple of '74 VW Superbeetles (with factory air!!). The 911 is like a Superbeetle on steroids, and quite a bit of fun. They can also be extremely reliable if you buy the right car. If you have even a single doubt about any car you look at, walk away. It's not easy to do, but another one will come along.......

Good luck!
Old 06-18-2001 | 10:35 PM
Dial 911
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Pete,
You mention the latest Excellence article on the middle year 911's. Written by Bruce Anderson, you won't find much better advice.