Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Advice for Buying a 3.2

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2012 | 09:37 PM
porsche0nut
Race Car

Default Advice for Buying a 3.2

Hello Rennlisters,

I am finally on the hunt for a 3.2, after many years of dreaming.

I am new to this entire process. I have read "The Used 911 Story" and have been following this forum for years, but now that I'm in a position to look for a car I realize that I really don't know anything!

I'm hoping that some of you may be able to pass on some advice for looking for a car, assessing the car, and the deal making process. How do you strike a deal with somebody on the other side of the continent, and then trust that when you fly out to pick up the car they are going to hold up their end of the deal?!

What do you think of this car?

http://forums.pelicanparts.com/porsc...low-miles.html

I look forward to joining this community in the near future!

All the best,
-Jonathan

Last edited by porsche0nut; 01-23-2012 at 11:15 PM.
Old 01-23-2012 | 11:12 PM
masterdave
Racer

From the pics it looks like a good car, there is a chance this guy showed up to one of our drives one weekend but i didn't get much time to talk to him. Looks to be in good shape 77K is relatively low from what I have seen with these cars. Many of these cars I have seen lately are over 100K (miles that is). Paint appears to be in decent shape. He has all the paper work which is a good thing. I would ask for a copy of the paperwork before you go through with any thing and a PPI is a must. Ask him if there is any rust under the battery, usually people say there is no rust on these cars and forget to check under the battery. I only know a bit about Carrera prices these days, 23K may be fair it may be a bit high. I will say its a buyers market with the economy the way it is. You may be able to get it down to 20K or so.

Regards
Dave
Old 01-23-2012 | 11:18 PM
porsche0nut
Race Car

Dave,