Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Dilapidated Porsche worthwhile??

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2011, 07:02 PM
techwrench
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dilapidated Porsche worthwhile??

This is my first post as a rennlist member. I have been after a buddy of mine to sell me this car. It is a 1978SC Targa. It belonged to my buddy's late father and has been sitting on the street in front of his house for the past 6 years..It has had a leaky roof and windows for most of the 6 years, is rarely driven, and is collecting a really good layer of moss. The paint is almost completely gone, the seats and most of the interior are completely shot, and I believe there is a good chance of rusted floors...... The good points are........It has been in the same family since new with no accidents and I believe I can get the owner to part with it for $1,000 or less. I have extensive knowledge, a good shop, and have rebuilt several cars so 99% of the work will be done by me.

My question for everyone is this.....

For $1,000 or less, is this car worth it for a DIY restoration??
Attached Images  
Old 10-26-2011, 10:29 PM
Wreckster
Track Day

Go give it a good examination, if you think it can be saved, then I would say go for it. Is it running?
Old 10-26-2011, 10:52 PM
redridge
Nordschleife Master

Received 62 Likes on 49 Posts

Yes... If you have the time and lots of money..... If you don't have both, don't do it.

But.... If you want a project car and in it for the long run, it will be very rewarding. You should check out pelican parts, those guys will eat that 78 up.
Old 10-26-2011, 10:53 PM
budge96
Rennlist Member

Received 108 Likes on 94 Posts

For a thousand bucks it's certainly worth the price of entry! no brainer!
1. 3.0 ltr engine core 1500.00
2. 915 trans core 750.00
3.four 16'' fuchs 1000.00
4. non rusty chassis 1500-2500
5.SC alum susp comp 1000.00
total $ 5750.00