Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Occasional strong smell of gas

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2003, 04:20 PM
Fahrvergnuugen
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Post Occasional strong smell of gas

once in a while i get a really strong wiff of gas inside the cabin of my 82. I noticed there is a vent tube coming from the filler neck...I'm not sure if this is where the smell is coming from or not.
is this comon?
Old 05-09-2003, 11:54 PM
ThePuf
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have similar experiences, but only when the car has been sitting for over a day and never when driving. When I get in, there's a fairly strong smell of fuel which dissipates quickly. My cousin's '76 Carrera 3.0 had the same smell so I figured it just something that comes with old Porsche ownership

Is there some sort of fuel vapour release system that might be leaking into the cabin? I'm still learning about my car, so I'm not sure...

Puf
Old 05-10-2003, 02:58 PM
pwd72s
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
This may sound crazy, but on '80's cars, try a new gas cap. Guys on another board have written that this has solved the problem.
Old 05-10-2003, 03:10 PM
Fahrvergnuugen
Instructor

Funny story about that...
The first DAY I had my car, I was getting gas and i set the cap on top of the pump. I had my back to it while I filled the tank. Some ******* guys behind me [pumping gas on the other side of the pump] reached over the top and stole the cap.
I was 10 hours away from home [I bought the car in North Carolina] so I stopped by a pep boys and got a 6 dollar "Fits GM, FORD, YUGO, PORSCHE" plastic cap. The original was metal.

Could this cheap gas cap be the culprit?
The following users liked this post:
Superdave312 (12-08-2020)
Old 05-10-2003, 03:18 PM
pwd72s
Pro

Could be. On the other board, the cause was explained as a poor sealing gas cap gasket. Going to an original cap may solve your problem.
Old 05-10-2003, 10:45 PM
gavin11
Intermediate