Need help with 911 SC purchase?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 03:13 AM
Tate
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with 911 SC purchase?

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time on this forum, and I came here to seek some advice/suggestions on purchasing a 1981 911 SC. This is my first attempt at purchasing a Porsche and I only drove a Porsche twice...but I think I've been bitten!
Here's the info on the 911:
10K miles on rebuilt 3.0
89K miles original
993 cams
Big Throttle body
12 new valve guides
New piston set
New fuel pump
Fuel pressure regulator
SSI heat exchangers
New Mille Miglia mufflers - dual in dual out
Bilstein Sport shocks
Turbo Tie Rods
New steering Column
New clutch PP and light flywheel
Polished 15" Fuchs

I went to see the car today and it sounds nice and the paint is not the best and there are some little rust spots...doesn't look major though. I noticed a wire cut in the engine bay and the guy couldn't explain why. It might be from some alarm system he had, as there is a ten key push button pad on the dash for that alarm, but it no longer works. There's a hole for a tweeter speaker on each door panel, but other than that it looks okay. There is also another switch (toggle) under the dash, which the owner does not know what it's for. There is also a front strut bar and the trunk area looks clean, but I did not lift the carpet.
This is the second owner and he had it for 6 yrs and put on 12K miles. The previous owner is mechanic and he does the work on the car.

I asked why the rebuild, he said because he wanted to install the cams and his mechanic said the motor is pretty much maxed out at this point. I'm sure there must be a S/C for this car out there!

He wants $16,500 for the car.

Anyway, from what I mentioned what comments, suggestions, advice do any of you have?
I'll be taking the car for a PPI hopefully tomorrow. I'm not in love with this car, so I could walk away any time as well.