Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

First post: Advice on my first purchase please

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2007, 09:42 AM
'Hoo
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First post: Advice on my first purchase please

I've been enjoying the Forums for a couple of years and been a member of rennlist for a few months, but this is my first post.

Been a Porsche fan for as long as I can remember- one of my earliest memories is being driven to pre-school in my dad's 356.

I've been passively monitoring the typical online and newspaper sales channels for a couple of years and was still thinking that I'm a couple of years out from my first purchase, but I came across the following last night:

'99 911 C2 with 42K miles for $30,500. Current owner is a long time PCA member and is selling due to a move overseas. Carfax is clean but indicates this is the 3rd owner and has only had the car for 8 months. It appears to have been used as a daily driver for that 8 months with about 9K miles in that time.

To me, the price seems low relative to others offered on the web but consistent with KBB private party, excellent condition ($30,750).

What do you think of the price? If the current PCA owner has a fully documented PPI from 8 months ago do I need another one? Does PCA membership translate into trustworthiness? Does anyone know of a good indy for a PPI near Manassas or Centreville, VA? What's a reasonable price for a thorough PPI?

Sorry for all the questions- Thanks in advance!!
Old 02-10-2007, 09:50 AM
Paul K
Three Wheelin'

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Get another PPI from a reputable shop with no prior kowledge of the car. I have heard of a PPI costing from $250 to $500.

How set on a 996 are you? Have you looked at 993s?

Hope it all works out,

Paul.
Old 02-10-2007, 10:03 AM
'Hoo
Rennlist Member