Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

73 RS style "Hot Rod". 2.7 vs 3.6?

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2006, 03:56 PM
gt3racerich
Racer

Received 19 Likes on 8 Posts
Question 73 RS style "Hot Rod". 2.7 vs 3.6?

I have been looking for a 73 911 for a while. I have never riden in one, let alone driven one so I don't know why I have the hots for one so bad. What is it about these cars anyway?(I guess that is a whole other thread) I thought that I wanted it with a 3.6 but lately I have been reading threads and many people prefer a 2.7. When ever I see a car for sale, I factor in the cost of changing the engine, but if a car has the engine I want, even if it is more expensive, it becomes cheaper.(providing it is done right) Again, since I have no knowledge of the older cars I have nothing to base my preferace on. I have been reading the recent thread about which tub to use for a project like this so I thought I would ask about the engine. Which engine do you prefer and why. Anyone whe replies will have more knowledge then I, and I appreciate all coments. There are presently 2 cars that I am interested in. Both have 2.7 engines and are to expensive to change the engine. If I were to be happy with the engine that is in the car it makes them both more reasonable.
Thanks in advance, Rich

Last edited by gt3racerich; 08-22-2006 at 10:18 PM.
Old 08-20-2006, 04:59 PM
Doug&Julie
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Well the two motors are as different as the cars from which they "initially" came. The 2.7 (not just any 2.7, but a true RS MFI 2.7 with 210hp) is a free reving motor with good old fashion feel and sound. The 3.6 is more of a grunt motor; larger, more powerful, but also heavier and, some would say, not as "lively" because it's an EFI motor. Which motor you want in your RS "recreation" depends on whether you want an RS "feel" or just an RS look with a killer motor.