Should I buy a 911?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2005, 09:33 PM
H2OJazz
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I buy a 911?

Hi folks:

I'm a fairly longtime 944 driver who is looking to move to another Porsche next year. I have strongly considered a 968 or Boxster but also notice that many mid and late 80s 911s are in the same price range (15-20K). I have had fairly carefree time with the 944 (all needed belts, maintenance, clutch at 100K, etc.) and hope to continue so with my next car. I put about 10K miles a year on my current car and do DE 5-8 times per summer.

I would be very interested in opinions re the 80's and early 90's 911 re ownership experience, things to look out for etc.

911 are beautiful classic cars, just always been a little unsure if they are more of a headache and wallet drain than the water breathers.

Thanks for all input.
Old 10-17-2005, 11:42 PM
Barry A. Waters
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

H20Jazz,

My family has both cars - an '88 NA 944 and an '86 911 coupe. They are indeed different animals. Your intended use, expectations and budget will really make the decision for you.

I see you do DEs. The 944 is one of the best handling cars around but is lacking in power (unless you have a turbo). You really have to work at getting in trouble handling wise on these cars as they are so damn balanced. That said, even the NA cars are a hoot to drive if you can keep the engine within its power band. More work for you but the end result is shear bliss.

As daily, dependable drivers these cars do very well. Creature comforts (especially year models '85.5+) are far superior to 3.2 Carreras. If you're not really sure about changing cars, your 944 can go a long ways with beefing up - plenty of options for you out there.