Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Driving in rain, no power below 2000 rpm

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2005, 10:41 PM
kide
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driving in rain, no power below 2000 rpm

I recently acquired a 1985 930 with 140,000 KM. I am a newbie to maintaining cars and very much appreciate your advice!

The car is 1985 911 Carrera, Japan model. It has been dealer serviced for the past 20 years and has original / factory parts, except for K&N air filter. (by the way I changed oil / oil filter at a Porsche dealership a few days ago and it cost an equivalent of US$350 dollars! Is this the case elsewhere???)

Anyway, this morning, for the first time driving the 930 in heavy rain, at first idle started be unstable, moving between 500-900 rpm. Usually it is very stable around 700 rpm.

Then the idle got more unstable and the engine stopped. I was able to restart it, but there was almost no power below 2000 rpm. It was difficult to get the rev above 2000 rpm, even without moving the car.

For the next 15 minutes of drive back home, with dozens of traffic lights (I live in Tokyo), at every red light the engine died / almost died. There was no power that simply engaging the clutch would make the engine stop.

At every green signal, I had to rev it above 2000 rpm in order to get the car moving.

But then, during the drive to the next traffic light (a few hundred meters), with engine above 2000 rpm, the EX light would blink. As the manual says I am to turn off engine immediately when I see EX light blinking, it was very scary.

Since this never happened (albeit my short history with this car) I am assuming it is because of rain.

Questions:

1. Is this symptom due to rain?
Symptom 1: at idle, little power.
Symptom 2: at 2000-3000 rpm, EX light blinking.

2. If so, how is rain causing this problem?

3. How can I prevent it from happening? (other than no driving in rain )

Thank you so much in advance for your advice!
Old 10-10-2005, 12:20 AM