Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Guidance on diagnosing

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2023, 11:18 PM
boonebeausoleil
AutoX

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default Guidance on diagnosing

Hey all, I recently bought my first Porsche and it is a 1983 911SC. I've been driving it around town for about two weeks now and ran into my first problem. It was running fine this morning and I parked it in my garage. About 2 hours later I went to back out and it wouldn't run. Initially it started and the engine ran for about a minute, enough for me to turn the radio on and back out of the garage into the driveway. I tried restarting it thinking maybe i had stalled it and it would turn and start up for about a second and then turn off. I've gone back and tried a few times more over the last couple of hours with the same result. I'm not a super mechanic or anything so I'm looking for some advice on how to try and trouble shoot this. Please and thank you!
Old 07-10-2023, 12:34 AM
Tmistry
Rennlist Member

Received 127 Likes on 62 Posts

so, the car turns over and the engine fires, runs fine for a minute, the stalls out?

if so, I’d say it’s a fuel feed related issue. Check the Fuel pump relay / fuse/ fuel filter. Might be coil related.

any other symptoms? Anything else to go on?