Notices
911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

911SC Radio question (from a new member)

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2021, 04:41 PM
911SCRVA
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 911SC Radio question (from a new member)

Hi all. Nice to meet you. I'm new to the forum. I've been lurking for a week and have been impressed with the amount of knowledge and helpfulness here. So I thought I'd wade in with a few questions. I just bought an 81 911SC with an Alpine head unit, an A/D/S amp, JBL door speakers and A/D/S rear speakers. It barely works. I was going to post pictures, but I can't seem to upload from my laptop. Suffice it to say, it's old and ugly stuff. I want to get a new head unit and speakers, and if I need to, an amp. I'm thinking of the Continental TR&412UB-OR head unit. It's nice (enough) and simple looking. But what about speakers? And do I need an amp? I have very little experience with doing anything electronic but I want to try to install whatever new system I get myself. I've searched but can't find any videos that document the process. Any words of wisdom?

Thanks for your help!
Old 04-24-2021, 07:55 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,111 Likes on 794 Posts

i dont think you really need an amp for such a small car but a subwoofer is a nice touch so make sure you have an output for one. mine is slim and sits under the drivers seat.
speakers can be very tough to fit in the desired space. i put blaupunk overdrive speakers in that fit with a home made bracket. i dont think they are available anymore. other will chime in for sure.

i have an clarion M508 ,its a nice unit and you can completely turn off the display which is nice at night, and it looks period correct
Old 04-25-2021, 09:50 AM
Skibum1963
Racer

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Stereo