Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Keep stock or make track car?

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2015, 05:13 PM
Arahant
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Keep stock or make track car?

Hi Guys,

Right now im in the position of wanting to get into regular track useage.. I'm fairly new to the hobby, but I know I enjoy it and I have the spare time to do it on a regular basis when there isn't snow on the ground.

Here is my problem.. I have a 1986 951, its in fairly good condition... perhaps not as good as I thought when I first bought it but the interior is very good probably 9/10 with carpets being 10/10...

It has a little over 70,000 KM's which is like 43,000 miles... the paint isn't very faded although it has alot of pain chips, so the car needs to be touched up or possible repainted..

What I'm wondering is if I should be upgrading this car and using it on the track, or if I should keep it as kindov a "collector" car, and buy a much cheaper higher mileage 951 for the track, possible even one thats already a track car and has taken a huge hit on depreciation, anyone who has been been into this for awhile knows what I'm talking about with regards to that.

I know 944/951's arn't hugely collectable ATM like alot of other porsches, but I think some people would agree that they are atleast starting to.. and if I were to hold onto it for 5-10 years it could be worth decent money while I also get to enjoy driving it occasionally..

Or do you guys think they won't appreciate enough to make it worth my while to buy another whole car for track use? Let me know your opinions!
Old 05-28-2015, 07:28 PM
mdj577
Rennlist Member

Received 99 Likes on 76 Posts