Notices

Title Trailer Angle for deck over trailer

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2023 | 08:25 PM
onthebrink
3rd Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Title Trailer Angle for deck over trailer

Hello. New guy here with no knowledge of towing for a 1977 911. I want to use a trailer I have to tow this car, I use this trailer for other things and I'm hoping

The angle is 15 degrees

it would work. Worried the angle of the trailer is too steep.

https://nationwidetrailers.com/view-...lt-Trailer-T8/

Is this trailer to step of an angle? I can build a step up of several 2X8's to lessen the angle.

Has anyone done such a thing?

Thanks in advance
Old 12-15-2023 | 09:18 PM
th964
Rennlist Member

Received 62 Likes on 26 Posts

You can use this Trail Ramp Calculator to determine the correct dimensions for a ramp. I use Race Ramps; they are pretty durable and lightweight. After a long track weekend, I appreciate how easy Race Ramps are to position and store.

I have no personal experience with that type of trailer, but I have seen a few folks struggle to drive their car up on that type of trailer when it is wet and/or raining outside.

Good luck, and keep us posted on what you do!
Old 12-16-2023 | 12:53 PM
onthebrink
3rd Gear

Thank you for the thoughts and link to the calculator, very helpful.

This particular trailer is certainly not an optimum trailer for this but trying to figure out if its a real option.

Thank you again
The following users liked this post:
th964 (12-16-2023)
Old 12-16-2023 | 01:48 PM
RobT 394
Rennlist Member

Received 109 Likes on 67 Posts