Sponsored by:

Considering a used Taycan Turbo or M5

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2023, 09:03 PM
aaks38
Racer

Received 26 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Considering a used Taycan Turbo or M5

Ive been thinking of adding either a F90 M5 Comp or a Taycan Turbo. I currently own a 997 4S and E90 M3 but as ive hit 53, im starting to value something a little more luxurious and smoother riding but without giving up much in terms of handling/performance. Ive been following several threads and have come to realize the Taycan isn't the ideal electric car and if you can lower your expectations about where to charge it and dont plan on long trips it might a great car for daily commuting/weekend drives, as im willing to put in a 240VAC 50A outlet and just go off of that.

I am leaning to the Taycan but am trying to understand the long term concerns and possible issues given they are being turned in readily. I do my own DIY on my 911and M3, but although im an electrical engineer, the Taycan seems to be a difficult car to electrically diagnose when issues arise, right or wrong as there are no aftermarket service tools? Also I was curious if any of you have went from a m5 to a Taycan or vice versa and what your impressions are?

Thanks for any feedback.
Old 07-18-2023, 07:38 AM
d00d
Rennlist Member

Received 280 Likes on 184 Posts

Went from an F90 M5 to a Taycan RWD, don't miss the power and the handling wasn't nearly as good.
I track a GT4 when I want sound and fury.
In seven months I've had a pinched wiring harness that caused the TPMS system to fault, and found the windshield needs to be cleaned occasionally for the camera to reliably recognize traffic signs.
A cloned PIWIS laptop can be used for DIY.
The following users liked this post:
spdracerut (08-07-2023)
Old 07-18-2023, 08:56 AM
CarAholic
Rennlist Member

Received 187 Likes on 115 Posts