Notices

Xpel Installation

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2016, 10:47 PM
petee1997
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Xpel Installation

My new car arrived at the dealer today. I was thinking of doing some protective film on it but I have never done this on any of my cars before.

1) Is it recommended?

2) I was quoted $1,100.00 for Xpel on the front bumper, mirrors and the complete hood. Is this competitive and is it a good product?

My last two Porsches had a few chips but not very noticeable. Mind you they were both traded with less than 10K kms. This car I am hoping to drive a little more.
Old 04-01-2016, 11:40 PM
red996
Rennlist Member

Received 76 Likes on 58 Posts

I just had my entire car covered with Xpel ultimate. It has a 10 year warranty against cracking and yellowing. Do you like rock chips? I can't stand them. I don't think I can spend anymore time fixing them, I have spent alot. At the very least I would get the coverage you stated. The quality of the install is the important part. It can be installed so it's invisible. These high quality clear film installers are very skilled. Don't use just anyone to do the install.
Old 04-02-2016, 12:16 AM
petee1997
Burning Brakes

The installer is the one used by my dealer. They say he is one of the best. Any idea if the price is right?
Old 04-02-2016, 12:38 AM
red996
Rennlist Member

I am not in the GTA. Price is about right for Alberta. I wouldn't trust any installer I don't know. These guy's can use sharp blades right on your paint. It's not unheard of for paint to be cut.
Old 04-02-2016, 02:18 AM
Vise
Drifting

Received 313 Likes on 191 Posts