Insurance coverage for DEs

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2006, 04:43 PM
PierreTT
Burning Brakes

Received 161 Likes on 62 Posts
Default Insurance coverage for DEs

Those of you who are going to DE sometimes,

I just called my new insurance cie and they told me that I wont be covered for my DE weekend. I'm surpirsed since my last insurance cie was covering that kind of sessions (not a race and no chrono).

I'm thinking about switching back to my old insurance cie. Are you aware of this? Any toughts or suggestions?

Thanks for your input
Pierre
Old 07-31-2006, 05:49 PM
911 Rod
Race Car

Received 286 Likes on 197 Posts

I think the general rule is we don't tell them.
Don't be surprised if they cancel your insurance.
Apparently they have to cover you.
I was told a claim has never been denied at an UCR DE. This is why they cancel you before hand.
But I'm not an expert.
Old 07-31-2006, 06:54 PM
baldheadracing
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Quebec is different from Ontario.
Old 07-31-2006, 08:10 PM
Christien
Race Car

Received 48 Likes on 33 Posts

Rod, are you referring to a collision claim, or a liability claim? As I understand it, they can't (by law) deny a liability claim, but that would be really good to know that there's a good track record (pun intended?) with damage claims. Personally, I assume that any damage I do to my car will be fixed out of pocket - I have to be prepared to write my car off. For what I'm driving, that's harder to do emotionally than financially, but would suck either way. When I hit the wall at Mosport last month I never considered putting it through insurance. It was only a $2K repair job, and I'm sure they would've cancelled my policy.
Old 07-31-2006, 10:42 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,015 Likes on 722 Posts

only 2K ? what was it a stone chip fixed at Gibsons ? :-)
Old 08-01-2006, 09:59 AM
PierreTT
Burning Brakes

Received 161 Likes on 62 Posts