Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Minimum camber to not sacrifice the front edges?

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2017, 12:01 PM
PorscheAddict
Rennlist Member

Received 122 Likes on 75 Posts
Default Minimum camber to not sacrifice the front edges?

Hey folks, I am the proud new owner of a 981 Cayman S. I have a lot of track experience in other cars but none in it yet (100+ days HPDE, a few SCCA formula mazda races). I have not ran a car hard on track in years that did not have proper alignment, so I'm worried about the P zero's edges. Can the ~1.5 degrees I can get stock save them, or do I absolutely have to get camber plates or LCA's? I tried to search and there doesn't seem to be a whole lot out there on min. to avoid junking tires in 2 days.

I run at VIR, Barber, Road Atlanta, the good SE USA stuff.

Thanks for any input/thoughts.
Old 06-22-2017, 12:03 PM
ExMB
Rennlist Member

Received 1,330 Likes on 810 Posts

1.5 camber will not be enough
Old 06-22-2017, 12:54 PM
CosmosMpower
Drifting

Received 52 Likes on 38 Posts

-2.5 if you're tracking on street tires. Ideal is -3 to -3.5 if you're using a R comp or slick. P zeros suck on track, you won't like them if you've used dedicated track tires.

Not sure what to do for a Cayman but for 911's you can use a GT3 top mount and rotate it to get more camber.
Old 06-22-2017, 01:00 PM
PorscheAddict
Rennlist Member

Thanks guys. Figured the P zeros sucked on track, but that's what's on it so I'll give them a shot first. Looks like most of the cayman folks run either Tarrett camber plates up top (adds a degree or so, for -2.5) or GT3 LCA's.
Old 06-22-2017, 01:33 PM
Bill Lehman
Three Wheelin'

Received 228 Likes on 134 Posts

Originally Posted by PorscheAddict
Thanks guys. Figured the P zeros sucked on track, but that's what's on it so I'll give them a shot first. Looks like most of the cayman folks run either Tarrett camber plates up top (adds a degree or so, for -2.5) or GT3 LCA's.