SC HD Video issue - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

SC HD Video issue

Reply

Old 04-29-2017, 01:39 AM
  #1
Ritter v4.0
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ritter v4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nassau, Bahamas and Duluth, Ga.
Posts: 3,993
Default SC HD Video issue

Been using VLC to open and play video from my SC HD on my Mac without issue. Would then edit in Race Render.

This past weekend at Mitty the only thing I changed was that I loaded a 128GB card but now only a couple of short files from early in the weekend were readable. The others (MOV files) will not open, though the file itself shows say, 1.7GB for a 30 min race as it normally would. So it appears there is data there but unreadable.

Any suggestions? There is some choice video of some cool cars
Ritter v4.0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 01:48 AM
  #2
ProCoach
Rennlist Member
Rennlist
Small Business Partner

 
ProCoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Durham, NC and Virginia International Raceway
Posts: 9,491
Default

Remember, SD cards greater than 32 GB are formatted in exFAT, not FAT32, as required by the camera.

I use Disk Utility to format 64 GB and 128 GB cards before installing in a SCHD (or other device that writes data to the video real time).

The fact that there is a file size (and I would check to see if there is a start/stop time on the cursor control on the bottom of the VLC Player, if there isn't, this is confirmation of the following) but not playable could also mean the index of the file is damaged.

I don't have it in front of me, but there are two good file recovery programs that work well, open source.
__________________
-Peter Krause
www.peterkrause.net
"Combining the Art and Science of Driving Fast!"
Professional, Private Driver Performance Analysis
Authorized Sales and Support for AiM, VBOX Video, MoTeC, Race-Keeper and SmartyCam HD
ProCoach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 01:58 AM
  #3
Ritter v4.0
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ritter v4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nassau, Bahamas and Duluth, Ga.
Posts: 3,993
Default

Thanks Peter. I didn't know that about >64gb cards. I'll format next time.
When and if you can find the file recovery program I'd appreciate you letting me know.
Ritter v4.0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 02:04 AM
  #4
ProCoach
Rennlist Member
Rennlist
Small Business Partner

 
ProCoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Durham, NC and Virginia International Raceway
Posts: 9,491
Default

Originally Posted by Ritter v4.0 View Post
Thanks Peter. I didn't know that about >64gb cards. I'll format next time.
When and if you can find the file recovery program I'd appreciate you letting me know.
Anything bigger than 32 GB needs reformatting.

From Racelogic a few years ago (links not tested): It is possible to recover corrupted video files using either DivFix (http://divfix.maxeline.com) or VirtualDubMod (http://virtualdubmod.sourceforge.net)

I think I'd try virtualdubmod, first.
__________________
-Peter Krause
www.peterkrause.net
"Combining the Art and Science of Driving Fast!"
Professional, Private Driver Performance Analysis
Authorized Sales and Support for AiM, VBOX Video, MoTeC, Race-Keeper and SmartyCam HD
ProCoach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 02:23 AM
  #5
Ritter v4.0
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ritter v4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nassau, Bahamas and Duluth, Ga.
Posts: 3,993
Default

Cheers.
Ritter v4.0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 05:58 PM
  #6
ir_fuel
Super User
 
ir_fuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,173
Default

Originally Posted by Ritter v4.0 View Post
Thanks Peter. I didn't know that about >64gb cards. I'll format next time.
When and if you can find the file recovery program I'd appreciate you letting me know.
If I am not mistaken you can format the SD card in the SmartyCam camera.
ir_fuel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 06:49 PM
  #7
Bull_D
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Bull_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 261
Default

I have gotten both 128GB and 256GB cards to work in my SCHD. Is there a max?
Bull_D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 07:54 PM
  #8
ProCoach
Rennlist Member
Rennlist
Small Business Partner

 
ProCoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Durham, NC and Virginia International Raceway
Posts: 9,491
Default

I know 128 GB works, haven't tried 256 GB.

32 GB is eight hours on the highest quality.

128 GB will do a 24 hour race, without trouble.

Beyond a point, it's a little nuts.

There are SD and SD XC (extended capacity) cards. Up to 32 GB SD, <32 GB SD XC. There IS a native formatting break AT 32 GB, so anything above, generally does not work out of the box until reformatted.

I would MUCH rather have a FAST 32 GB card than an average 128 GB or 256 GB card. Besides, SD cards DO age out.

Makes a big difference. And I've never seen any driver generate good looking enough video for more than a few gig!
__________________
-Peter Krause
www.peterkrause.net
"Combining the Art and Science of Driving Fast!"
Professional, Private Driver Performance Analysis
Authorized Sales and Support for AiM, VBOX Video, MoTeC, Race-Keeper and SmartyCam HD
ProCoach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 08:32 PM
  #9
Bull_D
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Bull_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 261
Default

Originally Posted by ProCoach View Post
I know 128 GB works, haven't tried 256 GB.

32 GB is eight hours on the highest quality.

128 GB will do a 24 hour race, without trouble.

Beyond a point, it's a little nuts.

There are SD and SD XC (extended capacity) cards. Up to 32 GB SD, <32 GB SD XC. There IS a native formatting break AT 32 GB, so anything above, generally does not work out of the box until reformatted.

I would MUCH rather have a FAST 32 GB card than an average 128 GB or 256 GB card. Besides, SD cards DO age out.

Makes a big difference. And I've never seen any driver generate good looking enough video for more than a few gig!

Thanks for the info. I wasn't sure if 128G would do a 24, the reason I went with the 256.
Bull_D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 12:31 AM
  #10
Ritter v4.0
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ritter v4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nassau, Bahamas and Duluth, Ga.
Posts: 3,993
Default

So if I'm looking for a good plug 'n play fast 32gb SD card any recommendations or specs I should look for?
Ritter v4.0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 08:44 AM
  #11
amso3

Rennlist
Small Business Partner

 
amso3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,589
Default AIM MOV fix software

David

I use the Class 10 SD cards.

Also, I placed a Zip folder containing the AIM MOV Fix software on my website. You can download it here

http://austinmotorsportsllc.com/docu...ce-information

This software is used to fix fix MOV files that have FOF files with the same name. Your issue might be different
__________________
Jerry Austin P.E.
AIM Authorized Dealer since 2008
Racing Data Engineer
National PCA Instructor
84 911 3.6 track car
www.austinmotorsportsllc.com
amso3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 09:47 AM
  #12
ProCoach
Rennlist Member
Rennlist
Small Business Partner

 
ProCoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Durham, NC and Virginia International Raceway
Posts: 9,491
Default

Originally Posted by Ritter v4.0 View Post
So if I'm looking for a good plug 'n play fast 32gb SD card any recommendations or specs I should look for?
I like the Transcend 600X 90 Mbps Class 10 cards or the Sandisk Ultra Extreme 32 GB cards, both from Amazon.
__________________
-Peter Krause
www.peterkrause.net
"Combining the Art and Science of Driving Fast!"
Professional, Private Driver Performance Analysis
Authorized Sales and Support for AiM, VBOX Video, MoTeC, Race-Keeper and SmartyCam HD
ProCoach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 10:07 AM
  #13
Matt Romanowski
Rennlist Hoonigan
which cost no drachmas
Lifetime Rennlist
Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor
 
Matt Romanowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 8,264
Default

Agree with Peter. The faster the better.
Matt Romanowski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 11:33 AM
  #14
Ritter v4.0
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Ritter v4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nassau, Bahamas and Duluth, Ga.
Posts: 3,993
Default

Many thanks.

I have still have 2 x old 128gb cards. Should I initialize in the camera or my Mac?
Ritter v4.0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 11:52 AM
  #15
ProCoach
Rennlist Member
Rennlist
Small Business Partner

 
ProCoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Durham, NC and Virginia International Raceway
Posts: 9,491
Default

I've not done it in the camera, surprisingly enough! Not always prompted to and have had adverse results.

I really like using Mac's Disk Utility!
__________________
-Peter Krause
www.peterkrause.net
"Combining the Art and Science of Driving Fast!"
Professional, Private Driver Performance Analysis
Authorized Sales and Support for AiM, VBOX Video, MoTeC, Race-Keeper and SmartyCam HD
ProCoach is offline  
Reply With Quote
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
anewman143
Audio and Video Forum
3
07-24-2017 09:54 AM
dbbarron
Data Acquisition and Analysis for Racing and DE
17
03-12-2017 10:59 AM
williamsonoma
Porsche Cayenne Forum
6
11-18-2016 09:01 PM
ir_fuel
Data Acquisition and Analysis for Racing and DE
26
10-14-2016 09:20 AM
Coochas
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
22
08-02-2016 01:58 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Copyright ę 1998 - 2017 Rennlist.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: