Sponsored by:

Weight of wheels

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2017, 12:04 PM
JayG
Three Wheelin'

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Weight of wheels

I'm looking at picking up a set of Racing Dynamics wheels as a spare set for track/AX use at really good price.

From what I can tell, they weigh around 6-8 lbs more that the wheel I use now.

I know heaver wheels can effect performance, but in reality how much? My car is basically stock, soon to get a suspension upgrade like PSS9's. I am a relatively new track driver, about 18 track days under my belt. I am not concerned with a few 10'ths in lap time, but several seconds would be a concern

My thought is to most likely use them for practice sessions on the track and switch to my lighter wheels for timed runs. Maybe the same for AX.That way I can save my "good" tires for when it counts. Or, since the new wheels would let me use wider tires on the front (8" vs 7" wheel, use them for my timed runs

They also come with with 4 virtually new tires, but not ones I would use for the track or AX

Old 01-11-2017, 02:30 PM
stownsen914
Three Wheelin'

Received 268 Likes on 172 Posts

As a new-ish driver, you would probably be hard-pressed to notice. Wheel weight does make a difference, though, so as you gain experience you may notice the difference. But even for a very experienced driver, I can't imagine the difference being several seconds per lap.
Old 01-11-2017, 08:35 PM
mark kibort
Rennlist Member

Received 141 Likes on 60 Posts

Originally Posted by JayG
I'm looking at picking up a set of Racing Dynamics wheels as a spare set for track/AX use at really good price.

From what I can tell, they weigh around 6-8 lbs more that the wheel I use now.