Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

COTA: Why didn't I stick the landing?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2016, 01:24 PM
TXE36
Drifting

Received 191 Likes on 128 Posts
Default COTA: Why didn't I stick the landing?

COTA with Chin last Saturday. I was having a good time and "in the zone". Something weird and interesting happened during the session. My brain started directly associating "turn more" with "more brake" rather than the steering wheel - it almost felt like it was cross wired. I've never done this before unconsciously. Turn more has always meant more steering and rotating the car through trailbraking a very conscious act. Anyway, I was continuously setting new PBs and getting more and more aggressive with the trail braking and then did this in T20:

In real time, I though I overdid the trail braking, but in looking at the video, I'm already back on the throttle when the rotation starts and I think it was simply a case of slow hands.

Didn't mess me up too much, in fact set a new PB after coming out from the required black flag discussion.

Thoughts,
-Mike
Old 09-06-2016, 03:09 PM
Olemiss540
Rennlist Member

Received 287 Likes on 187 Posts

From the looks of it, it seems as though you didn't cut throttle early enough once you started to lose traction. On my e36, the moment I cut throttle application once I lose rear traction, she snaps back into place. Video almost seemed like throttle application went UP right when the slide started?

Which tires were you running?

Originally Posted by TXE36