Sponsored by:

Laguna Seca vs Thunderhill Brake Demands

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2014 | 09:09 PM
onapex
Intermediate

Default Laguna Seca vs Thunderhill Brake Demands

Hi,

Hoping someone who has ran both can give me some insight. I've done Thunderhill 3-mile a couple of times, heading to Laguna Seca for the first time this weekend. I'm a beginner so not really pushing my car that hard. Completely stock car, stock fluids, etc. That said, I've heard that Laguna Seca is more demanding on the brakes. Is this true? Do I need to be more careful about the brakes as the sessions go versus Thunderhill? Any thoughts, insights, etc.? Thanks in advance.
Old 10-30-2014 | 10:59 PM
btwyx
Instructor

I find that Laguna wears the pads about 2-3x faster than Thunderhill 3 mile does. We took about 1mm off the PCCB pads a couple of weeks ago at Laguna (our first time out in the Porsche) with both of us driving. In the old car we've been struggling to find pads which would last for a day there.

Do you know how much you've been wearing off the pads at Thunderhill? It took us a couple of years before we started bothering the brakes. We always make sure to have fresh fluid (less than 3 months old), last time we used RBF600, mainly just because it was offered. If you have fresh fluid you'll probably be fine. Its a fun track.

By the way, Thunderhill 5 mile seems to be about as tough on the brakes as Laguna is.
Old 10-30-2014 | 11:51 PM
Martin S.
Rennlist Member

Smile As someone once reminded me...

At Laguna Seca the acceleration spots are all up hill, the major braking zones, Turn 2 and Turn 11 are coming off a down hill.

Have your brakes inspected and flushed. Add super brake fluid, and pads if needed. On my 993, I use Pagid Yellows on front, paid Blacks on the back.

Do a You Tube video of the track, especially the Corkscrew...there is a tree you line up on.

The sound limit is 90 dB Max....

Laguna Seca bites if you screw up...just drive the line and have fun.