Sponsored by:

COTA's improving attitude

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2014, 07:28 PM
TXE36
Drifting

Received 191 Likes on 128 Posts
Thumbs up COTA's improving attitude

Got a very nice surprise today. I attended the BMWCCA Texas Trifecta last weekend at COTA and got a survey request today not from BMWCCA, but from COTA itself asking me how satisfied I was with the experience. A nice gesture considering I'm just an amateur DE driver.

If only the costs were more reasonable, that track could become a real gem. I've driven it twice and finally "got it" this weekend. Went from timid about breaking things, to having fun, to being able to keep some cars in sight.

The staff were there usual best and the recovery crews were much improved over last year. Their bathroom cleanliness beats Buc-ee's (those from TX will LTAO about that).

-Mike
Old 03-25-2014, 09:57 PM
Vonschmidt
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I can agree that the management in place is trying hard to correct the ills of the past and costs will have to come down if we are going to continue to play in their sandpit.
Old 03-26-2014, 01:26 AM
Shivatron
Instructor

Received 18 Likes on 4 Posts

I was there too, and I have to say I was super impressed. The TX BMWCCA chapters ran a great event and the facilities truly are world-class. Although I'd been to CotA several times before, I'd not yet driven the track; after two days I'd say I was only scratching the surface of understanding the fastest way around...

It is more expensive than other facilities, but at least for me, I got what I paid for. (At least part of that is that it's 20 minutes from my house, which obviously doesn't apply to everyone.)
Old 03-26-2014, 08:57 AM
TXE36
Drifting

Received 191 Likes on 128 Posts

Originally Posted by Shivatron