Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Good advice for someone considering my 951 street/track car?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2013, 08:10 PM
teamking
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good advice for someone considering my 951 street/track car?

Hi all,
I received the following email from someone looking at my car (https://rennlist.com/forums/showthread.php?t=695050):

Will,

After some research I'm concerned about the maintenance cost of the 944 I was/am considering an s2000 model 2000 that i saw, do you know anything about them. Remember I'm a newbie to track days and racing so if you could give your experienced opinion it would be of great help.

I appreciate your input and will market your car to some other friends as well.

Thank you,

[name removed]
To which, I replied as follows. I'd love to get some other opinons on whether my advice was appropriate and whether there are other opinons regarding his options:
Funny you should ask about the S2000—I have one as my daily driver!

I wouldn’t be too worried about maintenance costs with a 944, 944S, or 944S2. Yes, they have their quirks, but the major stuff (which is what you care about at the track) holds up well under the abuse and for a 20+ year old car.

The turbos are a little more finicky, and are more difficult to work on because the engine bay is so crammed with stuff.

That being said, I think the car I’m selling represents a solid vehicle that will go around a track faster and safer than anything else I can think of for the same money.

But, it will set you back more in maintenance time/expense than some slower variants of the 944.

Which brings us to the S2000. Absolutely fabulous car. I will probably never sell mine. Ever.

I have daily driven my 2001 since I purchased it in 2004. I have also autocrossed it extensively (three time regional champion in that car), and taken it to the track once.