Slippery tires as a learning tool

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2012, 10:39 PM
zhupanov
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slippery tires as a learning tool

Folks,

I am a DE beginner (fewer than 10 outings plus some classes so far), and I have been fortunate enough to just get a 996 GT3 with all the safety equipment installed. Coming to it from Mitsubishi Evolution (which practically drives itself) and Cayman (which is also relatively easy for a newbie to control), I am quite intimidated by the GT3's combination of power, grip, and weight balance distribution. Putting this together with the following ideas:

- "if you are not slipping in every corner, you are not going fast enough"
- "the only way to learn car control is to experiment with it at (but just before) the limit"

which seem to be commonly agreed on truisms, it would seem logical that slippery tires/conditions would allow one to experience car limits at much lower (and, thus, safer) speeds. I do realize that one may be as likely to spin out and hit a wall driving narrow all-season tires at the limit of adhesion as one is driving slicks in the dry at the limit of adhesion (though I think the latter are more dangerous for a novice), but hitting that wall at 50 MPH (in the first case) is a lot safer than at a 100 MPH (in the second).

Bottom line is: what do you say to an idea of buying a set of really narrow wheels, a set of really hard and slippery all-season tires (essentially buying tires that get the worst reviews for grip), putting them on a GT3, and heading to the track? Genius, suicide, or a waste of time?

Assuming it's a great idea (for the track), what do you think of doing the same on the street?
Old 10-22-2012, 10:41 PM
ProCoach
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 2,837 Likes on 1,671 Posts

Waste of time. You're better off doing some wet skidpad work.

Drive it with OEM tires, then as you gain experience and confidence, go to R compound tires.