Sponsored by:

Best Value/Most Reliable type of race car

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2012, 10:30 AM
9.5 Degrees
Pro

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Best Value/Most Reliable type of race car

Hey guys I know this question will get as many answers as there are cars, but I'm ready to make the jump to a race car. I'm not a good mechanic or wrencher and budgets are always limited so that's why I wanted to ask the experts about their thoughts on the more trouble free cars for racing regardless of make.

In California there seems to be more organizations to race a P car than any other.

I've thought about Spec Miata but that limits you to really NASA and the Spec Pinata reputation is weighing on my mind. The other is that you really have to spend a lot of $$ to have an engine that will compete near the front in that series.

The 944 spec class is interesting but everytime I go out to the track there is always something breaking down in those cars. As much as the owners say they are pretty bullet proof, they really don't seem to be.

What about 911? I know they have a high initial buy in, but do they seem to be reliable after that?

Any Honda racers out there?

I really want to make sure I make the right choice because I know I'll be stuck with this car for a few years anyway and don't want to make a mistake. Thanks!
Old 04-26-2012, 10:41 AM
Vampire
Racer

Received 51 Likes on 24 Posts

You can buy older 911's (80's) that have PCA logbooks for a reasonable price $14-$20K. I think they are very solid.

Building a car is expensive.

Buy in price may not be as expensive as the operating costs. Some spec classes are more affordable because of tire specs. Also . If you have to buy a truck , trailer, storage... then the buy in cost becomes a small % of overall cost over a 5 year span.

Look for good classes to compete in in your area.

Running at the front is more expensive and more effort and not any more fun than mid pack results. That's what I keep telling myself!