Sponsored by:

ASK THE COACH

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2016, 09:22 PM
Veloce Raptor
Rennlist Member

Received 1,539 Likes on 812 Posts

Originally Posted by kespiritu10
Been lurking the forums since I plan on either a Cayman GT4 or 997 GT3/or RS in the future. I'm currently doing NASA right now (started in 2015 w/two events), but I had a few questions. 1.) The reason I chose the GT4 is I don't want to purchase a car that is above my driving limits. I realized power isn't everything after a a few trackdays. 2.) I'm still learning the ropes, but how can you truly tell where the limits are of a tire? I'm currently using a set of Yokohama Advan AD08R's. I've been told, you can feel it and hear it. I'd rather not push myself to a point that I make a mistake and end up crashing. I have a few videos if you don't mind me posting? Thanks for your input. Just trying to play it safe and avoid causing injury to myself and others on the track.
Get someone really capable, like a good coach, to drive your car with you as a passenger, on track.
Old 05-18-2016, 10:15 PM
winders
Race Car

Received 853 Likes on 423 Posts

Originally Posted by ProCoach
Be NICE, Scott!
Hey, I just pulled up a chair to watch the show!
Old 05-18-2016, 10:36 PM
kespiritu10
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I apologize if this has been answered somewhere in this thread. Probably not the best first post. Here are a few videos.

Old 05-18-2016, 11:08 PM
TXE36
Drifting

Received 191 Likes on 128 Posts

Night DE? That takes things up a notch.

-Mike
Old 05-18-2016, 11:13 PM
kespiritu10
AutoX

Originally Posted by TXE36
Night DE? That takes things up a notch.

-Mike
Yup, first one. I had a few months hiatus till this track night. I ran this same course in the day time. The biggest thing I noticed is how much different it is hitting the apex and same line. It was a learning experience, but I felt like I had improved. I was much slower in the beginning.