Old 03-10-2011, 11:12 AM
chris walrod
Guru
Lifetime Rennlist

Rennlist Small
Business Sponsor

Received 101 Likes on 52 Posts
Default Gurney Flap Study

If anyone is interested, here's a study that you may find interesting.

http://www.aoe.vt.edu/~mason/Mason_f/AIAA2007-4175.pdf
Old 03-10-2011, 11:43 AM
911SLOW
Admin
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 126 Likes on 99 Posts

Very interested ! Thank you for the link!

John
Old 03-10-2011, 11:52 AM
SundayDriver
Lifetime Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Interesting data - thanks Chris.

It would be very interesting to see what Gurney flaps do the the pressures - do they work mostly by increasing or decreasing pressure (top vs bottom). This would have a big potential effect on how a wing helps drive a tunnel or diffuser.
Old 03-10-2011, 11:56 AM
analogmike
Rennlist Member

Received 103 Likes on 43 Posts

I am an engineer but I have been an administrator for too many years now, so that makes my head spin... brief synopsis as it relates to a 911 rear wing?
Old 03-10-2011, 12:09 PM
SundayDriver
Lifetime Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by analogmike
I am an engineer but I have been an administrator for too many years now, so that makes my head spin... brief synopsis as it relates to a 911 rear wing?
Gurney Flaps Good. Bigger is better (Gurney flaps and other things too).
Old 03-10-2011, 12:30 PM
Lemming
Nordschleife Master

Received 86 Likes on 72 Posts

Originally Posted by SundayDriver
Gurney Flaps Good. Bigger is better (Gurney flaps and other things too).
Figure 4 shows that you can get the same increase in lift as a 5% GF by increasing the angle of attack 7.5 degrees. Given that the 5% GF increase drag by 335%, I would like know the increase in drag by increasing the angle of attack of the wing (without) by 7.5 degrees.