Sebring video

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 08:59 PM
Mark Dreyer
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 662 Likes on 357 Posts
Default Sebring video

I've been instructing with a couple PCA regions for a few months, and enjoyed my first day instructing for Chin yesterday. They are a great group and I have fun every time I run with them.

My student was a novice having only one previous track day under his belt. He was really a natural. I couldn't believe how well he did having been on track only one previous time. His car was a Mini Cooper S with Continental slicks. (yea usually bad for a novice, but this guy handled the car really nicely). The guy is an ex pro bike rider (even rode with Lance Armstrong), so I'm sure the bike control skills he possessed translated somewhat to driving because I've never seen a novice driver progress as quickly as this guy, and I was really impressed with the Mini-that car handles like a go cart!

Anyhow, I would like some critique of my driving. In particular I'm having brake overheating issues and since I've done everything I know to do in terms of brake cooling, I'm thinking I'm probably over-braking and need to go for a bit more speed through the corners? I've got a GT3 master cylinder, Brembo brake fluid (same boiling point as Castrol SRF), ss brake lines, pagid pads, and GT2 ducts. I'm running Pilot sport cups. I don't know what else to do other than maybe ease off my brakes a bit and try to carry a bit more speed through the corners. Any help appreciated.

BTW at the end of this video you can see where I barely made the turn at 7 and 10 due to by brake pedal going soft. I pitted as soon as I felt that, and didn't go back out again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J77dYNgFmaE
Old 11-07-2010, 09:38 PM
sbelles
I'm in....
Rennlist Member

Received 260 Likes on 174 Posts

Video is private.
Old 11-07-2010, 09:40 PM
Mark Dreyer
Addict
Rennlist Member

Oops, fixed it.
Old 11-07-2010, 09:59 PM
Elliot9
Instructor