Thinking about my first DE

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2009, 02:04 PM
Liceman
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Thinking about my first DE

Hi,

I'm new to Porsche ownership. I bought a '99 996 Carrera coupe about 2 months ago... absolutely love it.
It's essentially stock. I was thinking about doing a DE at MidOhio and/or Nelson Ledges (Ohio).

I guess my question is, what do I need to know before jumping into the DE experiences?
I'm a novice at best, that's for sure.
Is it recommended to take a stock street car to these, or are there essential mods that need to be done first?
Helmets required I assume?

What is the best way to get into this whole thing, in the Ohio area. What were your initial experiences like?
Old 09-23-2009, 02:32 PM
DanR
Drifting

advice has been given many times before, but DONT do it. You will find yourself on a slippy slope of enjoyment! At first it will be a crazy itch you have to scratch but it turns into a full on addiction.

I was at the track Monday and spend all day yesterday looking at data thinking how I can go faster and when I can do it next. It is worse than crack!!!!

You have nothing to lose by trying it. PCA is great for newbies and you will appreciate your car a lot more when you see how it performs on the track

Street car is perfect especially when first starting out, just ensure it is well maintained. Check with the region as they may have loaner helmets you can try before you decide whether it is your thing or not.

Dont think, do IT!
Old 09-23-2009, 02:42 PM
J Berk
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 12 Likes on 5 Posts

You will have HUGE fun and a smile that will hurt.

Check out the site that I have been working on in my spare time (read..'not too often'!) as it might offer some help....link is in my sig.

Go for it and have fun !

best

Joe
Old 09-23-2009, 02:51 PM
jbossolo
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts

That's great to hear "Lice". The only way to safely explore the limits of your car.