Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fire System Installation

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2008 | 02:56 PM
sbarton
Instructor

Default Fire System Installation

I'm planning on installing my Firecharger AFFF Fire Supression System (2.3L) in my 911 this weekend.
Where do you guys recommend that I install the nozzles (3)? Obviously in the passenger compartment, engine compartment, and over the fuel tank, but looking for more specific locations in those areas to make it more useful and efficient. Pics would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

-Scott
Old 02-20-2008 | 03:27 PM
Gasser
Burning Brakes

I was told that the one in the drivers compartment should be between your legs poing up towards your lap or chest. Don't aim for the face but mid body. I would also like other opinions as I want to do this soon.

Old 02-20-2008 | 05:07 PM
insite
Three Wheelin'

scott -

i was a fire protection engineer for several years designing special hazard systems. everything depends on the suppression agent used, the system pressure, local application vs. total flood, and the design of the nozzles. basically, there should be EXACT manufacturer's instructions on proper nozzle placement. follow these VERBATIM or the system will fail to properly protect you. if the manufacturer does not provide this type of information, FIND ANOTHER ONE. i can't stress this last sentance enough.

before working as an FPE, i was a forensic engineer. i spent a lot of years investigating various mishaps and accidents for insurance companies. i can't tell you how often an extinguishable fire became catastrophic because of improper suppression system design or installation.
Old 02-20-2008 | 05:17 PM
sbarton
Instructor

insite, thanks for the advice.