Sponsored by:

Spring rates and other musings

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2006, 09:51 AM
mitch236
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spring rates and other musings

I am a student at heart and when I began my tracking hobby, I quickly began reading and analyzing my driving style. For the first two years, I would spend my down time debreifing with my pit buddies. These three drivers would become my mentors and I couldn't have chosen better people. My first DE instructor, who would become my best friend over the years instilled safety into me when I needed it most. Bill Buff, who was a factory Porsche driver in his day, gave me alot of insight into the technical aspects of going fast. I read books. I feel that at this point I am an above average driver.

Now I have taken it upon myself to learn about car (suspension) setup. As luck would have it, at two events last year, Michelin representatives attended and gave me alot of insight into alignment. Now I am trying to learn about springs and dampers.

I started out with stock PSS9's on my '04 C-2. It wasn't bad but there was still significant understeer. Then I switched to 700lbs front 900lbs rear spring rates. This worked fairly welll at Homestead but had too much oversteer. Then I lowered the rear rates to 800 and went to Sebring. Woa!!! That track is so bumpy, I couldn't keep the car on the track! Turns 17 and one were a disaster with my car skating all over the place!!

Does anyone have any advice to offer about choosing spring rates for a bumpy track? I don't want to keep trial and error for months.

Thanks
Old 07-31-2006, 10:50 AM
SundayDriver
Lifetime Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts