Sponsored by:

Is car control a lost skill?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2005 | 10:23 PM
Larry Herman
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Default Is car control a lost skill?

Here's a topic for some thought provoking discussion. Is car control a lost skill? With all of the amazing abilities of the new cars, ABS, PSM, etc, and the new suspensions that just work better, and the tires with incredible grip, I feel that many of the newer generation of drivers are just circulating around the track in a kind of cruise control mode. They know the line, and they know what they are supposed to do in terms of when to brake, how much to brake, where to turn in, when and how much to get back on the gas and so forth. And with all the correct emphasis on being smooth, some of them are going quite fast, but I wonder with how much real control?

It seems to me that nowadays, too many drivers are spinning off the track, or into things. I remember when I started PCA DE's. I had been autocrossing for 12 years, and then finally got the opportunity to get a Porsche 914 and get on the track. Needless to say, I was hooked, and autocrossing fell by the wayside, but the car control skills that I honed there I still have today. And pounding around the track in a pure momentum car with skinny tires does wonders for smoothness and keeping your speed up.

But to be really fast in that car, you had to be right on the limit, and that meant once in a while having the car get very out of shape and being able to hold it, and bring it back. And back then, just about everyone had a momentum car!