Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can someone help me with tire pressures on R-Compounds please?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2005, 03:02 PM
NickS
Rennlist Member

Received 96 Likes on 59 Posts
Default Can someone help me with tire pressures on R-Compounds please?

I have a D.E. event this weekend and this is my first time out on my race tires (Yokohama A032R-H) and I would like to know what's a good starting point for air pressure. It's going to be in the 90's both days.

My car is a '99 C2

Tire size = (F) 245/45-17 (R) 275/40-17 Full tread depth tires.

TIA!
Old 06-03-2005, 05:50 PM
mark kibort
Rennlist Member

Received 170 Likes on 66 Posts

start at 32psi front and rear and take temps and pressure afterward.

mk
Old 06-03-2005, 06:31 PM
JackOlsen
Race Car

Received 62 Likes on 48 Posts

Mark is much faster than me, so take this with a grain of salt. But I've always run the A032R's much lower than Hoosiers (which would start at about the pressures Mark mentions).

With AO32R's, I start at 23/25 cold and bleed off above 25/29 hot. Above 30, A032R's start getting greasy. Above 34 they get really lousy.

Caveats: I haven't run A032R's since they switched to a hard and a soft compound, and my car weighs 2400 pounds. In your case, I'd add maybe a pound of pressure for every 100-200 pounds your car is heavier than mine.

Better still, contact Tire Rack or a Yokohama rep to get their opinion, and post it here.
Old 06-03-2005, 06:49 PM
mark kibort
Rennlist Member

Received 170 Likes on 66 Posts

Jack is right, i was just starting at a pressure that was on the high side as to not russle anyones feathers (all the high pressure spinners out there!)

seriously, i once saw a bunch of NSX guys at a driving event and they were all spinning at every corner of the track. they all had one thing in common, (besides being new to the track thing) they all had set their pressures to 40psi!!