Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2005, 11:26 AM
Z-man
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 944 Swaybar setup for DE's

Background: I've been running the following setup for a couple of years now:
Front: stock 27mm bar.
Rear: 19mm 968 M030 3-way adjustable bar set to full firm.

I believe this combination helps to dial out some of the inherent understeer our cars exhibit. With this setup, my car rotates better, but the setup isn't that radical that I have to worry about the tail wiggling too much. I call it a 'plus one' setup - front is stock, and the rear bar is a notch up from the stock bar.

Upgrade direction: I am upgrading my swaybars to the following:
Front: M030 30mm bar.
Rear: Weltmeister 22mm fully adjustable bar. (Unless anyone here can sell me the elusive Turbo Cup rear sway bar.... )

I'd like to know where to set the rear Weltmeister bar so the handling will the comprable to my current setup. I am thinking of setting the Welt bar somewhere in the middle - maybe a hair towards the firmer side. That should give me a good starting point and I can adjust firmer or softer depending on how the car feels.

Does that make sense?

The rest of the equation looks like this:
The rest of the suspension: all original & stock.
Shocks: Koni Yellows (setting unknown) (Factory option: 474 - Sport Shock absorbers)
Wheels / tires:
DE: 8Jx16 at all four corners, 245-45/16 Toyo Proxes RA-1's
Autox: 7Jx16 front with 225-50/16 RA-1's, 8Jx16 rear with 245-45/16 RA-1's

Though I am sure that a full coil-over suspension upgrade would do wonders for how my car handles, at this point that it too cost-prohibitive. (But if you have other options - please voice them here!!)

I am looking for a setup that works well for both DE and autox, with a priority on DE.

Any input is appreciated!
-Zoltan.
Old 05-23-2005, 12:00 PM
M758
Race Director

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Zoltan,
Here are my feelings. This is based on 944-spec racing and track time in my 944 Turbo S.