Sponsored by:

Club Racing??????

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2005, 10:49 PM
mikew968
Rennlist Member

Received 41 Likes on 35 Posts
Default Club Racing??????

I am considering club racing with my 968. I have been doing DE's for about 2 years and have 12 track days with another 8-10 planned this year. I am upgrading suspension now and am planning a cage this summer. I have the following concerns about moving from DE to CR:
1. While I have 12 days and am progressing well I only have 12 days (soon to be 14).
2. I'm not fired-up about the increased possibility of an on-track issue which I would assume is incresed with CR.
3. Certainly is more expensive.

I'm sure others have ponders these same issues, any guidence would be great!!!

Thanks, Mike
Old 03-28-2005, 10:58 PM
Lemming
Nordschleife Master

Received 86 Likes on 72 Posts

Mike,

I'm in the same place, 14 or so DEs last year (my first year) and wanting to race. In the end I decided to hold off for one more year. I plan on getting my car sorted out (new Leda coilovers front and back on order) and some more seat time. One thing that I'm now doing in my DEs is going offline into corners. Up until this year, I always drove the line which is fast but is not always going to be the case in a race. I have to admit, taking turns from a totally different line has been eye opening and I'm glad that some of my spins have taken place while no one is right behind me

The other issue, an unexpected house expense that hurt my driving budget
Old 03-28-2005, 11:02 PM
mikew968
Rennlist Member

Received 41 Likes on 35 Posts

Thanks Tim

I am thinking of running at Putnam Park where i have 8 days already and possible 2 or 4 more before the September club race at Putnam park.

Mike
Old 03-28-2005, 11:14 PM
APKhaos
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Mike,
It would help to know where you live.