Sponsored by:

SCCA Fuel Sample Port

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2004, 10:59 PM
bem944
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SCCA Fuel Sample Port

I am new to the Porsche scene, just buying a 84 ITS prepped 944 (graduating from an ITC Scirocco). One thing needed on my car is the dreaded SCCA mandated fuel port. I noticed the cap nut on the end of the fuel rail and wondered if just finding a fitting to match the nut and a section of hose would suffice the SCCA Tech folks?

Barry Morton

Old 03-25-2004, 11:09 PM
84-944
Instructor

Good luck!

You may find another cap to modify, but, I doubt you'll find any off the counter thread to work. I'm told the cap and rail have a slightly different thread pitch which ensures the tight leak free fit you get from them.

You'll notice that it's difficult to tighten from the first turn all the way in.

If someone has a better way, please let me know.
Old 03-26-2004, 12:19 AM
Geo
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome to ITS!

Where are you located?

I'm getting ready to finish my car. I've got two bars left to bend on my cage and then I can start welding it up. As soon as that's done, the drivetrain and suspensin will come out. Hope to be done this summer.

George Roffe
84 944 SCCA ITS race car under construction
Member - SCCA IT Advisory Committee
Old 03-26-2004, 07:23 AM
bem944
Intermediate

Geo-I am in Jacksonville, FL

Anyone have any suggestions/photos of their fuel port?
Old 03-26-2004, 08:47 AM
Geo
Race Director

Originally posted by bem944
Geo-I am in Jacksonville, FL
A Broadfoot car.

Originally posted by bem944
Anyone have any suggestions/photos of their fuel port?