Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Has anyone completely lost interest in their street car?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2019, 09:55 AM
Quadcammer
Race Director

Received 1,371 Likes on 794 Posts
Default Has anyone completely lost interest in their street car?

So I've been doing regular DEs for about the last three years with my 986. Being an older car that I bought in stock form and developed quite a bit, I've spent a lot of time and energy on it. My buddies are now in the process of buying a car to race AER.

All the while, I have a beautiful, engaging 993TT sitting in my garage that I never use. Drove it maybe twice this year. Its not a low mile garage queen either.

I don't have any urge to go on "canyon run" style drives anymore and its just easier to get in my cayenne to go somewhere.

I still like the 993 and don't really wanna sell it, but I just have no interest in "fun" street driving. Nor do I care about any of the latest/greatest street performance cars.

Do any of you guys who track regularly still like going on fun drives on the street, or is street driving just for the mundane at this point?
Old 07-17-2019, 10:14 AM
stownsen914
Three Wheelin'

Received 268 Likes on 172 Posts

Haven't owned a street Porsche in years ...
Old 07-17-2019, 10:20 AM
ajcjr
Rennlist Member

Received 43 Likes on 31 Posts

Funny you should bring this up. I have the 997 in my sig sitting in my garage, i put may be 1k to 1500 miles a year on it. I have been thinking is it better to have the nice street car or track car. I do like blasting around in it once in a while but then again i find myself exceeding speed limits that i shouldn't. If this thread doesnt take off i may ask race/track car vs street car