Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why do wider tires help with contact patch?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2019, 12:07 AM
Thundermoose
Burning Brakes

Received 103 Likes on 72 Posts
Default Why do wider tires help with contact patch?

I am an engineer by degree and one thing has puzzled me as I see a lot of varying explanations as to "why does a wider tire increase the contact patch."

My intuition and observation suggests wider tires help, but why?

Someone posted an equation (I think on here) that stated simply that (static) contact patch = car weight / tire pressure. Makes sense and the units of measure work out, but with this formula, static contact patch area is independent of tire width. Tire width will obviously influence the length (or width) of one side, but the area remains the same so long as the tire pressure is the same.

If you believe that line of thinking, then the "reason" that wider tires helps must have something to do with dynamic contact patch (or heat dissipation) or at least that's what I thought. But I never saw an equation or quantitative explanation that explained WHY the wider tire helped. I saw a lot of qualitative explanations, some bordering on superstition and voodoo.

Interestingly enough, I found the article below, where they actually found that the patch pressure is different than the tire pressure at different loads due to deflection.

In their experiments, they did measure that at a 550 lb load the contact patch for the tires tested (245F and 315R) were equal (67 sq. inches). In fact, they also found that the narrower tire had a LARGER contact patch at loads from 100 lbs to 500 lbs than the wider tire.

However, as the loads increased beyond 500 lbs, the contact patch increased for the wider tire but not directly in proportion to width.