Sponsored by:

OT: Singer Experience

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2020, 07:24 AM
tstafford
Race Car

Received 1,085 Likes on 621 Posts
Default OT: Singer Experience

Note: Posting this here because, while OT, seems this is the best audience for the topic.

Mostly because I have too much time on my hands but also in response to a handful of questions other RLers, I thought I’d jot down my thoughts about driving a Singer. Nearly all of the material on the web is from reviewers who are “borrowing” the car rather than owners. There just aren’t enough cars out there for people to discuss them in places like RL.

Me - I’m a driver not a collector. I’ve owned tons of cars, the majority of them Porsche including most variants of GT but never more than three or four at a time including my race car and a DD. I consider myself an above average driver - SCCA full comp license, SCCA Pro Radical license and I do some DE instruction. I run Radical races pretty regularly so I understand things like suspension tuning, brake bias, etc from a driver’s perspective (but not an engineering one). Only relevance of any of that is it shapes how I approach the car.

Car is used - not my spec. Purchased while I wait on Singer build mine. I could go in to what it’s like to work with them, but that’s a whole different topic. Maybe equally or more so interesting, but for now I’ll focus on driving a Singer. Car is “Atlanta” commission: 2WD, 4.0L, 6-spd, ceramics, Ohlins. I could also get in to why I bought a Singer which is a story about the slippery slope of enjoying air cooled but wanting “more of that special feeling”. . . Anyway.