Notices

84 911 brake upgrade

Old 07-13-2008, 09:01 AM
I love this car!
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 84 911 brake upgrade

Ok, please be patient with me. I am a newbie, have read alot of posts here and other places, and am feeling a bit overwhelmed........ I would like to upgrade the braking performance of my '84 911, while maintaining the 16" Fuchs wheels. I am looking for a bolt-on caliper or caliper/replacement rotor that will be popular enough to have performance pad choices. Hopefully without m/c replacement, with good availability and reasonably priced. I have read a wide spectrum of ways to go, 930's etc, but some seem dated, others like the 930 are based on parts that are too hard to find and be reasonably priced. I would like to have good balance under heavy application.
Thank you.
Old 07-13-2008, 02:29 PM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts

Brake solution choices are based on two things:

1) Wheel diameters

2) How the car is used; street and/or track

With 16" wheels, the choices are more limited but the real question here is about what you use the car for. If you are strictly on the street, one can install good pads, good fluid and with the right choices, this makes a very nice improvement in pedal feel and grip. Light track use can be accomodated with the installation of a brake cooling kit. In some cases, a front caliper change is very effective for the street.

If you intend to do a lot of Driver Ed events, you may eventually require a brake upgrade commensurate with such activities and thats not inexpensive to do properly. The use of DOT-spec race tires require real brakes on the track and the only solution for heavy DE use are the 930 brakes which fit inside your existing wheels.

My best advice would be to sit down & evaluate how you will use the car and budget realistically.
Old 07-13-2008, 02:45 PM
I love this car!
7th Gear