Macan 2014-Current

Not Happy - Poor QC/QA

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2015, 12:34 AM
loptk
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not Happy - Poor QC/QA

This is my first post and unfortunately, not a positive report.

I've been driving my Macan for about 4 months. During those periods, I have not really used the back seats as the car is mainly just for me and my fiance. I probably can count how many times they were used - less than 5 times.

Today, I had an occasion to give a ride to two of my friends. We arrived at their destination, said good byes, and they left and closed the door. As the door was closed, I heard a glass-shattering-noise, and of course I jumped out and checked on the door.

Apparently, the red light underneath the door fell off (that's my guess) but since it was still hooked/cabled, it was not completely fallen off. While dangling, as the door was shut, it was smashed into the door frame and shattered into pieces. This is my guess, but I hardly can think of any other way to explain what had happened. Bad glue maybe?

This is really ridiculous and something I've never experienced or expected when I was buying a Porsche. RR / BMW X5 we had never had such a poor quality control. I will be taking my car to a service center tomorrow, hoping for the best. However, I am not sure what their reaction would be. Is this something I should be responsible?

Hope any similar incident does not happen to you guys.
Old 04-04-2015, 10:21 AM
Sven76
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'd expect the Porsche dealership to fix it and give you a nice loaner during that time for free...
Old 04-04-2015, 10:56 AM
tomc_mets
Sir Thomas Lord of All Mets Fans
Rennlist Member

Received 113 Likes on 90 Posts

Originally Posted by Sven76
I'd expect the Porsche dealership to fix it and give you a nice loaner during that time for free...