Notices
Macan 2014-Current

Option contract ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2019 | 10:30 PM
Megatron13
AutoX

Default Option contract ?

Okay, so I'm finally taking the leap to get a Macan. I'm going from a credit union and my bank. I was planning on wiring both checks to the dealership, but the credit union says they don't wire checks. So now, I'm bringing in a cashiers check and the loan check from my credit union in person. Because of this, the dealer says they have to go with an option contract, where i would finance through them but that contract would get shredded once the two checks I bring in clear. I'm new to this and my first time buying a car on my own. Is this common ? I just don't want to get stuck financing through the dealership since their apr is probably double what I'm getting from my credit union. I hope I didn't confuse anyone with my situation. Thank you ahead of time and any comments are very much appreciated.
Old 04-10-2019 | 10:35 PM
RED HORSE
Race Car

Dealer just took my personal check.
Old 04-10-2019 | 10:42 PM
Megatron13
AutoX

did you make a deposit on the car to hold the car?
Old 04-10-2019 | 10:43 PM
Megatron13
AutoX

Originally Posted by RED HORSE
Dealer just took my personal check.
did you make a deposit on the car to hold it, sorry for the previous comment
Old 04-11-2019 | 10:06 AM
vivalaReagan
Instructor

Granted, I don’t know all the pertinent details, but it does sound unnecessary. As you probably know, dealerships also make money on the back end, which would cause me to question their motives. A cashier’s check is essentially cash, and a loan check from your credit union made out directly to the dealership takes any risk out of the deal for the dealership. Similar to Red Horse, I wrote a personal check for my turbo and drove it off the lot immediately. You should push back and ask the dealership for their rationale.
Old 04-11-2019 | 11:59 AM
Optionman1
Rennlist Member