Multi-link Rear Suspension in a GT4 Clubsport, a Short Review

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2017, 04:52 PM
unclejosh
Rennlist Member

Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Multi-link Rear Suspension in a GT4 Clubsport, a Short Review

Guys,

The attraction and addiction to go fast goodies can be a strong one as most of us know all too well. To that end, I wanted to share my experience about one in particular, a suspension modification, that from a safety and drivability standpoint, may be worth considering.

Short background: I sold my 2016 GT3 because it started misfiring and I got spooked about the top end issues. The GT3 was fun, but I think some of my driving deficiencies were masked by the cars power and electronics. Moreover, I wanted to try something very different, and something perhaps more rewarding, so I sold the GT3 and bought a Clubsport via Autoquest Motorsports in FL.

I am a fairly conservative driver and not a real fast guy, but I can appreciate a safe and neutral handling car on track, so I had Autoquest install their multi-link rear suspension system in the Clubsport, and set-up the suspension and alignment. I had never driven a GT4 before, and just went directly to the multi-link, based on my conversations with other multi-link early adopters who shared that the car was totally predictable at and beyond the limit, and from a safety and confidence standpoint, the multi-link was a big improvement over stock. Two of these multi-link GT4 guys were at Road America recently, and they were railing in those cars, with one guy in the 2:25s which is pretty incredible from my perspective.