Notices

"Moron in a Porsche" day! ! !

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2003, 02:00 AM
saphriel
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Moron in a Porsche" day! ! !

So today was the day I became ashamed of ever owning a Porsche. It has nothing to do with the marque, and I still maintain that Porsche motor cars are among the fastest, safest, most beautiful cars out there. However today was the day that i do frown on my brethren, and had I been driving a lesser car, I would have condemned all Porsche drivers to being arrogant stuck-up pie-holes. However, as a Porsche driver, I was merely content to fume.

Today at around 2:30p.m. a friend and I had just had a wonderful sushi lunch at the Shabusan at downtown Vancouver and we were coming to the parking lot of the Pacific Centre Mall to recover my Porsche (a cute grey 928S). There were many Porsches at the parking lot that afternoon, and so I was feeling even happier than normal. As all the cars are making their way to the parking exits, I give way to a wonderful silver Boxster who was turning right. I smile and wave at the driver, and I get a glare in return. Hmmm. Okay maybe he was having a bad day. Whatever.

So I come up to the electronic reader, which is placed about 20 feet away from the gate at the Smithe/Howe exit. I put my parking stub in, pay up, and the gate opens. I am just about to accelerate when a silver 996 Carrera cab (a dapper guy driving with a hottie blonde riding shotgun) suddenly looms into my view. Before I even make a move he gets into the gate and leaves!

Fortunately, a parking attendant saw the whole thing, and apologised about the layout of the parking lot (apparently this has happened before, as there are no divisions between lanes to prevent this from happening).