Notices

Are automatic 911s for losers?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2023, 01:02 PM
mrandell
Instructor

Received 26 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Are automatic 911s for losers?

Figured I'd get a response from that title The question is really about self-selection.

In the 2000's when I was in high school, the only flappy paddle was the SMG from BMW. It was notoriously jerky (I have no experience with them) but it was thought of as the transmission for the golf bag toting country club going Big Money Waster. Mercedes was the car that said "you made it" with a 5 speed automatic slushbox and the sensation of a gnarly v8. Money on the dresser, drive a Kompressor. As a result of this "made it" image, Mercedes was notoriously embraced by the Black community. There's a funny story where Richard Prior bought a new MB and the comedian Paul Mooney told him he'd get pulled over driving on sunset boulevard. They went for a ride and got pulled over twice.

Point being, there was a pathway to an automatic transmission in the luxury segment where you didn't care about shift speed or Nurburgring lap times. Maybe you wanted to keep a hand on your girl and drive at the same time. It was a cool thing. Samuel L. Jackson in Jackie Brown.

Now, the most impotent form of automobile to me is an automatic Porsche 911. I assume they're everywhere because that's what is largely for sale but I can't seem to understand why someone would buy one. Same story for the auto Corvette and auto Supra.

Girls will humble you when it comes to cars. You can spend $60,000 on a tuned Subaru STI that does 1/4 mile in 10 seconds and your date will think it's a Suzuki. I drove a shiny Porsche Boxster (manual) for years in San Diego and girls absolutely loved that car. More than any other car I ever drove including 911s.