Notices

When DON' T You Daily Drive Your Daily Driver?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2020, 07:11 PM
911Stalker
Advanced

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default When DON' T You Daily Drive Your Daily Driver?

As someone planning to buy a 911 to use as a daily driver, I'd be interested in some thoughts from people with Porsches as daily drivers as you think about the times when you specifically DON'T or WOULDN'T drive it, even though it's meant to be your primary transportation. In the strictest sense, that means you'd choose to drive a different car (or not drive at all) in these situations. I'm trying to get a sense of whether I'd want to keep my current ride or dump the backup concept altogether and use the wife's SUV in a pinch. FWIW, I'm in the Chicago area and I'm leaning towards a 991.2 CS4 Coupe w/PDK and I'm planning to keep it a long time, so I'm not overly concerned with racking up miles.

Here's a list of the most obvious times that I can think I'd want to drive a reserve car instead of the 911:
  • On bad snow days with several inches or more of unplowed snow or severe ice days
  • When I need to haul anything of size (although it looks like the golf clubs will fit)
  • When I need to transport more than one additional full-size passenger for any distance
  • When the car is in the shop or broken (not really a decision, but technically a day when it's not driven)

Here are some iffy situations that I'm not sure how one might handle:
  • When you know you'll have to valet park it
  • In large, urban parking garages (think downtown Chicago)
  • In large parking lots for multiple hours (i.e. when shopping at the mall)
  • A long road trip that's not designed to be all about the driving experience (like Chicago to Florida for vacation)

What am I missing?

Maybe an alternate way of phrasing the question is: "When/where have you driven your Porsche and regretted driving it?" And why?
The following users liked this post:
Vernin (10-20-2023)