Notices

Chances of a test drive

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2017, 05:26 PM
Cytokine23
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chances of a test drive

Hello all, long time lurker of this forum and dreamer hoping to own a 911 one day. I'm currently in my first year of med school but I really do hope to buy a 911 one day. Honestly, I'm obsessed with the 991.2 GTS, I think it is a perfect example of what a driver's car should be. Whatever 911 is out by the time I finish residency, in ten years of course, will probably be my first purchase. I'm a huge Porsche and car buff, it's what gets me excited. I've also recently started autocross in my Focus ST, which is a blast.

Anyway that's an introduction to my question. I really like going to dealerships and test driving cars, talking about them to knowledgeable salesmen, and overall just hanging out in a dealership. It's a stress reliever. My wife comes along and we make a date out of it for my sake. Is it a good idea to try to do something like this at a Porsche dealer? I'm very interested in the cars, but I obviously can't afford one, nor do I want to waste someone's time. But I have Thanksgiving break coming up and there is a dealership about an hour away. I just want to hang out, talk cars, sit in a 911 and see the different options, and maybe just maybe if they say yes, test drive one.

I have been building my perfect 911 on the Porsche website and while that does satisfy an itch, I've realized that I don't even know what a leather or alcantara interior looks like. And I want to know. Is visiting a dealer for this a scummy thing to do? I do want to be honest with the salesman so I won't lie about having the means to buy a Porsche but I also don't want to waste my time and drag my wife to a dealer over an hour away.

Thoughts?
Old 11-17-2017, 06:45 PM
fastcars914
Three Wheelin'

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts