Notices

PA "Classic" registration

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2020 | 04:46 PM
M Pete
Racer

Default PA "Classic" registration

Hi all, I'm new to PA and am going to take possession of a 2003 996TT which I am planning on registering for "Classic" tags. From what I have read this type of registration requires yearly safety inspection, but it does not mention anything about emissions inspection. Can anyone confirm that with "Classic" they only do a visual inspection of the exhaust and do not hook up to the ECU to read O2 or fault codes? Thanks much!
Old 03-03-2020 | 03:32 AM
evilfij
SJW, a Carin' kinda guy
Rennlist Member

Was just talking about this with my zuffenphilly friends.

No emissions inspection with classic plates. As an aside, interestingly, now that all non-OBD2 cars are 25 years old, the only inspection on 95 and down is visual whether you have classic, antique or regular plates. No more sniffer inspections in PA.

Also, if you don’t want classic plates, after the first inspection, if you keep it under 5000 miles a year and wait the full year, you get to be emissions exempt regardless of year so no emissions even on regular plates (I do this with a number of my cars as opposed to antique/classic plates which are supposed to be limited in miles anyway).

So unless you don’t think you can pass one emissions (oh by the way the form asks if you have modified your exhaust ....) classic does not get you much other than I believe it saves you from renewing registration (need to check that). antique with no inspections at all and permanent registration is gold though. I have three cars I need to switch but I am lazy ....
Old 03-03-2020 | 05:01 AM
justabout
Rennlist Member

One time registration fee for classic plates has been my experience in PA.
Old 03-03-2020 | 09:13 AM
M Pete
Racer

Thanks much guys! Good info, maybe it's just me but the data and schedule of fees on the DMV is a little confusing.