RPM signal for EVO4S

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2017, 04:05 PM
Cloud9...68
Burning Brakes

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RPM signal for EVO4S

Hello,

I apologize in advance if this is a stupid question, or if it's been covered in another thread, but I'm very new at this, and want to make sure I understand correctly what I need to do. I finally decided to go with an Aim EVO4S/GS Dash/SmartyCam HD system for my track-focused 1992 Porsche 968, and have been chipping away at the installation over the past few months, in between getting the car driveable again (long story). The most challenging aspect was connecting my home-made steering angle sensor, which required removal of my intake manifold to gain sufficient access to the steering shaft, but I've finally gotten it connected.

I thought I was in the home stretch, but then realized I still need to get the rpm signal to the EVO4S. I assume I have to tap into the DME's wiring to achieve this, so I checked the DME pin diagram in the manual, and Pin 6 labeled as "speed signal at rev counter." But in the description of how to troubleshoot a fault code, it says to place the leads of an oscilloscope to pins 49 and 48 of the disconnected DME control plug. Could somebody confirm which pin or pins to use? The patch cable that came with the Aim package has three wires, labeled "RPM 150-450V" (I assume they mean 1.5 - 4.5V), "OUTDIGIT1"(which matches the description of pin #5 of the RPM connector in the EVO4S pinout diagram), and ground.

Also, as I recall, the connector to the DME uses a large ribbon cable, as opposed (not surprisingly) to individual wires. How exactly would I go about physically tapping into a wire that is inside a ribbon cable? Or am I interpreting this whole thing incorrectly? Thanks.
Old 09-03-2017, 04:36 PM
ProCoach
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 2,854 Likes on 1,677 Posts