Notices

Rotary model question

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2006, 11:01 PM
dyazdani
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rotary model question

I've been contemplating the purchase of an electric polisher and through several searches obviously came up with the PC model being one of the more popular orbital type polishers. I'm not sure the wife will be happy with another $200 tool, so I'm exploring other avenues.

My question is if anyone owns or has tried the variable speed rotary from Harbor Freight? Here's a link

I've only found one reference in the search engine. I do realize that more finesse is required with the rotary than with an orbital. I've got an older vehicle that I can use for practice as well.

Thanks in advance...
Old 12-29-2006, 10:44 AM
MoeMistry
Premium Sponsor
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 768 Likes on 404 Posts

As a professional, I'd recommend staying away from a rotary. A rotary takes years to master and mistakes can be VERY costly. I'd get the DA from autodetailingsoltions.com. It's the Meguiar's version which is a porter cable w/ lifetime warranty. It's about $150 and you get some other extras. You can still achieve excellent result with a fraction of the risk of using a rotary. Just my advice.
Old 12-29-2006, 11:24 AM
perfectlap
Race Director

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

THe PC should not cost you $200. Check to see if Lowe's is running a sale they sell the Porter Cable orbital polisher.
http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...6SP&lpage=none
I think I picked up my PC at Coastal Tool for $110 but you still have to buy the flexible backing plate ($20)

for the velcro pads and at least one polishing pad and one final buffing pad. Probably another $50.
Detailcity.com has a monthly newsletter which will save you 10% on a big order like a new PC.
http://detailcity.com/lake-country-6...foam-pads.html
Griots garage sells a nice orbital as well, I'm not sure if its any cheaper.